Video encyclopedia

Senate of Australia


Australian Senator Caused Outrage When She Wore Burqa In Bid To Ban Them | NBC News


George Brandis slams Pauline Hanson for wearing a burka to Senate Question Time (2017) | ABC News


Burqa clad Senator sparks backlash in Australian Parliament


‘You’re not fit to call yourselves men,’ Sarah Hanson-Young tells senators


Explained: The Senate voting gamble

The Australian Senate is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of Australia, the lower house being the House of Representatives. The composition and powers of the Senate are established in Chapter I, Part II of the Australian Constitution. There are a total of 76 Senators: 12 are elected from each of the six states regardless of population and 2 from each of the two autonomous internal territories. Senators are popularly elected under the single transferable vote system of proportional representation.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!