14 Henrietta Street - Making Museum - Saving the plasterwork
The Pearse Museum
Pearse Museum. FREE things to do in Dublin
Richard Pearse Missing Aircraft Photo from the early 1900s
The Pearse Museum is dedicated to the memory of Patrick Pearse and his brother, William. Patrick Pearse was an educationalist and nationalist who was executed for his part in the 1916 Rising. The museum is situated in the suburb of Rathfarnham on the south side of Dublin, Ireland.
It was formerly an Irish speaking school named St. Enda's. Originally Pearse's school was set up in Ranelagh on 8 September 1908. It moved to Rathfarnham in 1910. After Pearse was executed for his part take in the 1916 rising, and due to decreasing numbers and increasing financial worries, the school closed in 1935. After Padraig Pearse's sister died in 1968, St. Enda's and its grounds were handed over to the state, and the school house is now a museum devoted to the Pearse brothers. The museum contains reconstructions of many of the original rooms, including Pearse's study, the family sitting room, the school art gallery, the school museum and one of the dormitories. There is also a gallery devoted exclusively to the sculpture of William Pearse. Visitors can also visit a nature study room in the courtyard behind the school house where examples of Irish plants and animals can be found.