What is inside the Htaukkant Thein Tample, Mrauk U
Pitakataik was the royal library in Mandalay, commissioned by King Mindon Min in 1857 during the founding of Mandalay as a royal capital. The library was one of 7 structures built to mark the foundation of consecration of Mandalay as the royal capital. It was located at the foot of Mandalay Hill, and was a masonry building with teak joints. The building was modeled after the Pitakataik in Bagan. The Pitakataik was formerly stocked with Pali and Burmese palm leaf manuscripts which were looted with the onset of British occupation in 1885.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!