Video encyclopedia

Punjab Legislative Assembly election, 2017

A Legislative Assembly election was held in the Indian state of Punjab on 4 February 2017 to elect the 117 members of the Punjab Legislative Assembly. The counting of votes was done on 11 March 2017. The ruling pre-election coalition was the alliance comprising the political parties Shiromani Akali Dal and Bharatiya Janata Party and led by Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal. The voter turnout for the Punjab Assembly election was 76.83%. The Indian National Congress led by former Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh defeated the rulling alliance and the new comer Aam Aadmi Party.