Video encyclopedia

BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay


Promising Young Woman Wins Original Screenplay | EE BAFTA Film Awards 2021


Parasite Wins Original Screenplay | EE BAFTA Film Awards 2020


The Father Wins Adapted Screenplay | EE BAFTA Film Awards 2021


Call Me By Your Name wins Adapted Screenplay | EE BAFTA Film Awards 2018


Frances McDormand Wins Leading Actress for Nomadland | EE BAFTA Film Awards 2021

The BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay is a British Academy Film Award for the best script. It was awarded from 1968 to 1982. In 1983 it was split into BAFTA Award for Best Original Screenplay and BAFTA Award for Best Adapted Screenplay.1982: Missing – Costa-Gavras and Donald E. Stewart E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial – Melissa Mathison Gandhi – John Briley On Golden Pond – Ernest Thompson 1981: Gregory's Girl – Bill Forsyth Atlantic City – John Guare Chariots of Fire – Colin Welland The French Lieutenant's Woman – Harold Pinter 1980: Being There – Jerzy Kosiński Airplane! – Jim Abrahams, David Zucker, and Jerry Zucker The Elephant Man – Christopher De Vore, Eric Bergren, and David Lynch Kramer vs. Kramer – Robert Benton 1979: Manhattan – Woody Allen and Marshall Brickman The China Syndrome – Mike Gray, T. S. Cook, and James Bridges The Deer Hunter – Deric Washburn Yanks – Colin Welland and Walter Bernstein 1978: Julia – Alvin Sargent Close Encounters of the Third Kind – Steven Spielberg The Goodbye Girl – Neil Simon A Wedding – John Considine, Patricia Resnick, Allan F. Nicholls, and Robert Altman 1977: Annie Hall – Woody Allen and Marshall Brickman Equus – Peter Shaffer Network – Paddy Chayefsky Rocky – Sylvester Stallone 1976: Bugsy Malone – Alan Parker All the President's Men – William Goldman One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest – Bo Goldman and Lawrence Hauben The Sunshine Boys – Neil Simon 1975: Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore – Robert Getchell Dog Day Afternoon – Frank Pierson Jaws – Peter Benchley and Carl Gottlieb Nashville – Joan Tewkesbury 1974: Chinatown – Robert Towne / The Last Detail – Robert Towne (TIE) Blazing Saddles – Mel Brooks, Norman Steinberg, Andrew Bergman, Richard Pryor, and Alan Uger The Conversation – Francis Ford Coppola Lacombe, Lucien – Louis Malle and Patrick Modiano 1973: The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie – Luis Buñuel and Jean-Claude Carrière The Day of the Jackal – Kenneth Ross Sleuth – Anthony Shaffer A Touch of Class – Melvin Frank and Jack Rose 1972: The Hospital – Paddy Chayefsky / The Last Picture Show – Larry McMurtry and Peter Bogdanovich (TIE) Cabaret – Jay Presson Allen A Clockwork Orange – Stanley Kubrick 1971: The Go-Between – Harold Pinter Gumshoe – Neville Smith Sunday Bloody Sunday – Penelope Gilliatt Taking Off – Miloš Forman, John Guare, Jean-Claude Carrière, and Jon Klein 1970: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid – William Goldman Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice – Paul Mazursky and Larry Tucker Kes – Barry Hines, Ken Loach, and Tony Garnett They Shoot Horses, Don't They? – James Poe and Robert E. Thompson 1969: Midnight Cowboy – Waldo Salt Goodbye, Columbus – Arnold Schulman Women in Love – Larry Kramer Z – Costa-Gavras, Jorge Semprún 1968: The Graduate – Calder Willingham and Buck Henry if.... – David Sherwin The Lion in Winter – James Goldman
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • 1960s 

    • 1970s 

    • 1980s