Video encyclopedia

Selkirk Concession


1702 Concession 3, Selkirk | Cindy Vanderstar


Red River Colony - Video Learning - WizScience.com


31 Bluewater Parkway Selkirk Ontario


1557 4th CONCESSION RD. Jarvis Ontario


CEFX and Patched SP on Q351 on the Selkirk Sub: 3/17/14

The Selkirk Concession was a land grant issued by the Hudson's Bay Company (HBC) to Thomas Douglas, 5th Earl of Selkirk, in 1811. The HBC held a commercial monopoly in Rupert's Land, consisting of the entire Hudson Bay drainage basin. The Selkirk Concession, also known as Selkirk's Grant, included a large section of the southwest area of Rupert's Land, bounded: on the north by the line of 52° N latitude roughly from the Assiniboine River east to Lake Winnipegosis, then by the line of 52° 30′ N latitude from Lake Winnipegosis to Lake Winnipeg; on the east by the Winnipeg River, Lake of the Woods and Rainy River; on the west roughly by the current boundary between modern Saskatchewan and Manitoba; and on the south by the rise of land marking the extent of the Hudson Bay watershed. This covered portions of present-day southern Manitoba, northern Minnesota and eastern North Dakota, in addition to small parts of eastern Saskatchewan, northwestern Ontario and northeastern South Dakota.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!