Video encyclopedia

Sequoyah Book Award


2019 Children's Sequoyah Book Award


Sequoyah Book Winner 2020


2019 Intermediate Sequoyah Award Winner


Children's Lit ~ Sequoyah Award Book Trailer


2020 Intermediate Sequoyah Award Winner

The Sequoyah Book Award is a set of three annual awards for books selected by vote of Oklahoma students in elementary, middle, and high schools. The award program is named after Sequoyah, the Cherokee man who developed the Cherokee syllabary—a writing system adopted by Cherokee Nation in 1825. The awards are sponsored by the Oklahoma Library Association and administered by a committee of OLA members. Every year, three teams representing each award read and select books to be included on the master lists, which are then provided to Oklahoma schools for students to read and vote on. The winners are announced early spring of each year, and the winning authors are invited to the Association's annual conference to receive their awards and meet with students. The Sequoyah Children's Book Award, now voted by children in grades 3 to 5, was inaugurated in 1959. It is the third oldest U.S. state children's choice award after the original Kansas award and Vermont award. The Sequoyah Intermediate Book Award is voted by grades 6 to 8. It dates from 1988 where it was originally named the Young Adult award. Finally in 2010, the Sequoyah High School Book Award was added to the program. The Sequoyah Committee also selects the Donna Norvell Award for easy reader books, Pre-K-2nd grades; however, this award is chosen by the committee members and not by the students themselves.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • General