Video encyclopedia

United National Congress


AG Hires Former UNC Senator


UNC Names General Election Candidates For St Ann's East, San Fernando West


UNC Pleased With LGE Results


Before every election in Trinidad and Tobago PNM vs UNC


United National Congress Finds New Home

The United National Congress (UNC) is one of the two major political parties in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and one of the main parties in the current opposition. It was founded by Basdeo Panday, a lawyer and former trade unionist. The UNC was formed as the result of a split in the ruling National Alliance for Reconstruction in 1988. After spending six years in opposition, the UNC won control of the government in 1995. In the 2000 general elections, the UNC won an absolute majority in the Parliament. In 2001, a split in the party caused the UNC to lose its parliamentary majority and control of the government. Between 1991 and 1995, and again from 2001 to 2010, the UNC was the Parliamentary Opposition party. In May 2010, the UNC returned to government as the majority party in the People's Partnership. With this victory, the UNC's political leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar was sworn in as Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, the first woman to hold this position.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Opposition party (1989–1995) 

  • Governing party (1995–2001) 

  • 2002 general election 

  • Party infighting 

  • Resignation of Dookeran and return of Panday 

  • 2007 general election 

  • Return to government (2010–2015) 

  • Second return to opposition 

  • Internal elections 

  • List of Political Leaders