Video encyclopedia

05/02/1907 Schoenberg's first string quartet premieres in Vienna


String Quartet No. 1 Op. 7 by Arnold Schoenberg, 3rd movement


Quartet No. 1 Op. 7 by Arnold Schoenberg, coda

A large work consisting of one movement which lasts longer than 45 minutes, Schoenberg's First String Quartet was his first assured masterpiece, and it was the real beginning of his reputation as a composer. This quartet is remarkable for its density and intensity of orchestration with only four instruments.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Essentials 

    • String Quartet in D major 

    • String Quartet No. 1 

    • String Quartet No. 2 

    • String Quartet No. 3 

    • String Quartet No. 4