Video encyclopedia

20/02/1792 George Washington establishes US post service


How the Post Office Made America


10 Fascinating Facts About the US Postal Service


How the U.S. Postal Service Works

The Postal Service Act signed by President George Washington established the Department. Postmaster General John McLean, in office from 1823 to 1829, was the first to call it the Post Office Department rather than just the "Post Office." The organization received a boost in prestige when President Andrew Jackson invited his Postmaster General in 1829.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Essentials 

    • Foundations 

    • The American Revolution 

    • Post Revolution 

    • 19th century 

    • 20th century 

    • United States Postal Savings System 

    • Airmail 

    • Gold shipments to Fort Knox 

    • U.S. Postal Strike of 1970