Video encyclopedia

01/05/1707 Acts of Union comes into force


22nd July 1706: Terms of the Acts of Union 1707 agreed


How Scotland Joined Great Britain

The Acts of Union were two Acts of Parliament: the Union with Scotland Act passed by the Parliament of England, and the Union with England Act passed by the Parliament of Scotland. They put into effect the terms of the Treaty of Union, following negotiation between commissioners representing the parliaments of the two countries.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Essentials 

    • Political background prior to 1707 

    • Political motivations 

    • Treaty and passage of the 1707 Acts 

    • Provisions 

    • Evaluations 

    • 300th anniversary