Video encyclopedia

29/08/1842 Hong Kong goes under British Crown


The Crown Colony Hong Kong


How 156 years of British rule shaped Hong Kong

British Hong Kong was the period during which Hong Kong was under British Crown rule, from 1842 to 1997, excluding the Japanese occupation from 1941 to 1945. It was established as a Crown colony and later designated a British Dependent Territory in 1981. Hong Kong Island was ceded to the U.K. by the Qing dynasty of China after the First Opium War.