Video encyclopedia

Irish Republican Army (1922–1969)


Bloody Friday Attack on the Ulsterbus Depot (1972)


Northern Ireland Troubles


The Troubles (Part 4 of 8)


Belfast Burning: Religious Divide in Northern Ireland Between Protestants and Catholics


P.IRA bombing of British National Defence College in Latimer, Buckinghamshire 12 February 1974

The original Irish Republican Army (IRA) fought a guerrilla war against British rule in Ireland in the Irish War of Independence between 1919 and 1921. Following the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty on 6 December 1921, the IRA in the 26 counties that were to become the Irish Free State split between supporters and opponents of the Treaty. The anti-Treatyites, sometimes referred to by Free State forces as Irregulars, continued to use the name Irish Republican Army (IRA) or in Irish Óglaigh na hÉireann, as did the organisation in Northern Ireland which originally supported the pro-Treaty side. Óglaigh na hÉireann was also adopted as the name of the pro-Treaty National Army, and remains the official legal title of the Irish Defence Forces. This article deals with the anti-Treaty IRA that fought against the Irish Free State in the Irish Civil War, and with its successors up to 1969, when the IRA split again.
  • The "Old IRA" split over the Anglo-Irish Treaty 

  • Civil War: National Army and Anti-Treatyites 

  • Border campaign and traditionalist nationalism 

  • 1960s: Marxist tendency and the 1969 split