Video encyclopedia

History of Maryland Terrapins football


Looking Back At History: A Farewell To Maryland In The ACC


Top 5 Maryland ACC Basketball Moments | A Farewell To Maryland In The ACC


Top 5 Maryland ACC Football Moments | A Farewell To Maryland In The ACC


Highlights: Texas Longhorns vs. Maryland Terrapins | Big Ten Football


3 Crazy Fun Facts About Maryland Terrapins Football | JOE DITZEL HAS SOME PROBLEMS

The Maryland Terrapins football team represents the University of Maryland, College Park in the sport of American football. The Terrapins compete in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and the Big Ten Conference. The Terrapins joined the Big Ten Conference on July 1, 2014, following 62 years in the Atlantic Coast Conference as a founding member. The Terrapins are currently coached by D. J. Durkin. Since 1950, the Terrapins have played their home games at Maryland Stadium in College Park, Maryland with occasional home games from time to time in Baltimore, making them one of two FBS football teams in the Baltimore–Washington metropolitan area and the closest Football Bowl Subdivision team to Washington, D.C. The team's official colors of red, white, black, and gold have been in use in some combination since the 1920s and are taken from Maryland's state flag, and the Terrapins nickname — often abbreviated as "Terps" — was adopted in 1933 after a turtle species native to the state. M
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Early history (1892–1946) 

    • Jim Tatum (1947–1955) 

    • Tommy Mont (1956–1958) 

    • Tom Nugent (1959–1965) 

    • Lou Saban (1966) 

    • Bob Ward (1967–1968) 

    • Roy Lester (1969–1971) 

    • Jerry Claiborne (1972–1981) 

    • Bobby Ross (1982–1986) 

    • Joe Krivak (1987–1991) 

    • Mark Duffner (1992–1996) 

    • Ron Vanderlinden (1997–2000) 

    • Ralph Friedgen (2001–2010) 

    • Randy Edsall (2011–2015) 

    • D. J. Durkin (2016–present)