Video encyclopedia

2019 Maharashtra Legislative Assembly election


Assembly Election 2019: "Maharashtra Voting For Change," Says NCP's Sharad Pawar


Watch: Maharashtra Assembly elections 2019 explained in numbers


Maharashtra Assembly Election 2019: Devendra Fadnavis Casts Vote In Nagpur


Maharashtra, Haryana Election Dates To Be Announced At Noon


Congress Releases Second Candidates' List For Maharashtra Assembly Polls

The 2019 Maharashtra Legislative Assembly election was held on 21 October 2019 to elect all 288 members of the state's Legislative Assembly. After a 61.3% turnout in the election, the ruling right-wing National Democratic Alliance (NDA) of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena (SHS) won a majority. Following differences over the government formation, the alliance was dissolved precipitating the political crisis. Since general Election did not result in a council of ministers. President's rule had been imposed in Maharashtra after none of the 4 parties could manage to form the government. On 23 November 2019 Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in as the Chief Minister and Ajit Pawar was sworn in as Deputy Chief Minister. But both resigned on 26 November 2019 before the floor test and on 28 November 2019, Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress formed the government.
  • Background 

  • Election schedule 

  • Political parties and campaign 

  • Aftermath