Video encyclopedia

1956 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament


Pro Football New Major Sport 1936


Big Ten Film Vault: 1956 Yearbook - Michigan State Season Recap


Big Ten Film Vault: 1956 Yearbook - Minnesota Season Recap


2014 Linfield Wildcats: Fall Camp Scrimmage


Sports in the 1950s

The 1956 NCAA Baseball Tournament was played at the end of the 1956 NCAA baseball season to determine the national champion of college baseball. The tournament concluded with eight teams competing in the College World Series, a double-elimination tournament in its tenth year. Eight regional districts sent representatives to the College World Series with preliminary rounds within each district serving to determine each representative. These events would later become known as regionals. Each district had its own format for selecting teams, resulting in 24 teams participating in the tournament at the conclusion of their regular season, and in some cases, after a conference tournament. The College World Series was held in Omaha, NE from June 9 to June 14. The tenth tournament's champion was Minnesota, coached by Dick Siebert. The Most Outstanding Player was Jerry Thomas of Minnesota.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!