Video encyclopedia

06/02/1851 Robert Schumann's "Rhenisch" premieres in Düsseldorf

The Third Symphony is scored for two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets in B♭, two bassoons, four French horns in E♭, two trumpets in E♭, three trombones, timpani and strings. It premiered in Düsseldorf, conducted by Schumann himself, and was received with mixed reviews, "ranging from praise without qualification to bewilderment".


  • Essentials 

  • Symphony No. 3 (Schumann) 

  • Biographical context 

  • Genesis 

  • Analysis 

  • Models