Video encyclopedia

1975 NASCAR Winston Cup Series


Dale Earnhardt's first MENCS start: 1975 World 600


Fonda NASCAR Qualifying 1966 or 67


NASCAR 1972 at Riverside Mark Donahue wins in AMC


1974 NASCAR Winston Cup Series Pit Stop Challenge


MRN Exciting Finishes- 1975 Winston 500

The 1975 NASCAR Grand National Winston Cup Series was the 27th season of professional stock car racing in the United States and the 4th modern era NASCAR Cup series. The season began on Sunday, January 19 and ended on Sunday, November 12. Richard Petty, driving the #43 Petty Enterprises STP Dodge scored his sixth NASCAR Grand National Series Winston Cup Championship. Bruce Hill was named NASCAR Rookie of the Year. NASCAR introduced a new points system for 1975, a system designed by statistician Bob Latford. For the first time, each race on the NASCAR Winston Cup Grand National schedule carried an equal point value, a system that would be used for 36 seasons, from 1975 to 2010. The original points system ran for the first 29 seasons, from 1975 to 2003, and in the original points system, 5 bonus points for leading a lap and 5 additional bonus points for a driver leading the most laps was only counted towards the points of your finishing position. In 2004 however, even though this points system was still in play, modifications were made in the points system itself: A playoff system was added, points would reset to 5000 after 26 races, only the top 10 drivers in points or anyone else within 400 points of the leader would race for the championship with 10 races to go, the drivers in the chase would start off the 10 race format 5 points apart from each other, and throughout the whole season, an additional 5 bonus points for winning a race was now included. In 2007, the number of drivers to compete for a championship would increase from 10 drivers to 12, the seeding for the chase was now lined up by the number of wins the driver had after the 26th race, or before the 10 race chase, and increasing another 5 additional bonus points from the 2004 rule for winning a race, making it now 10 bonus points for winning.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!