Video encyclopedia

1976 Indianapolis 500


Johnny Rutherford wins Indy 500 in 1976


Swede Savage 1973 Indy 500 Fatal Crash Original ABC Broadcast Footage


1977 Clay Regazzoni Crash Indianapolis 500


1976 Indianapolis 500 Program Starting Line-up


Start Crash & Gordon Smiley Fatal Crash 1982 Indy 500

The 60th 500 Mile International Sweepstakes was held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana on Sunday, May 30, 1976. Polesitter Johnny Rutherford took the lead on lap 80, and was leading when rain halted the race on lap 103. Two hours later, the race was about to be resumed, but rain fell again. USAC officials called the race at that point, reverted the scoring back to the completion of lap 102, and Johnny Rutherford was declared the winner. Rutherford famously walked to Victory Lane, his second career Indy 500 triumph, having completed only 255 miles (410 km), the shortest official race on record.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!