Video encyclopedia

Ceremonial county of England


Historic Counties of England with flags and county towns


A Poem About the 48 Ceremonial Counties of England


Traditional Counties of England


Merseyside!! (is it a county?) What is a UK County?


Old Photo's of Brotton

The ceremonial counties, also referred to as the lieutenancy areas of England, are areas of England to which a Lord Lieutenant is appointed. Legally the areas in England, as well as in Wales and Scotland, are defined by the Lieutenancies Act 1997 as counties and areas for the purposes of the lieutenancies in Great Britain, in contrast to the areas used for local government. They are also informally known as geographic counties, as often representing more permanent features of English geography, and to distinguish them from counties of England which have a present-day administrative function.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • History 

  • Shrieval counties 

  • Definition 

  • Lieutenancy areas in 1890