Video encyclopedia

1979 Formula One season


F1 1979 DIJON GP Rene Arnoux ( Renault turbo ) Vs Gilles Villeneuve ( Ferrari )


1979 Formula 1 Zandvoort,Holland Gilles Villeneuve


1979 Formula One season Top # 5 Facts


Formula One Mario Andretti John Player Special Lotus 79 F1 1979


1979 Formula 1 - Round 15 - USA Watkins Glen - Race - English

The 1979 Formula One season was the 33rd season of FIA Formula One motor racing. It featured the 1979 World Championship of F1 Drivers and the 1979 International Cup for F1 Constructors which were contested concurrently over a fifteen-round series which commenced on 21 January 1979, and ended on 7 October. The season also included three non-championship Formula One races. Jody Scheckter of Scuderia Ferrari won the 1979 World Championship of F1 Drivers while Scuderia Ferrari won 1979 International Cup for F1 Constructors. Gilles Villeneuve made it a 1–2 for Ferrari in the championship, concluding a successful second half of the 1970s for Ferrari. Alan Jones finished the season strongly for Williams, finishing third in the championship and with teammate Clay Regazzoni scoring Williams's first ever Grand Prix win as a constructor. Scheckter's title was Ferrari's last drivers' title for 21 years, before Michael Schumacher won five consecutive titles for the team between 2000 and 2004.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Drivers and constructors 

    • Season report 

    • Results and standings