Video encyclopedia

Cabinet of Nauru


Scott Morrison’s mission to bolster shrinking cabinet | Nine News Australia


Ian Ling-Stuckey sworn in as PNG's new Minister for Treasury


Malcolm Turnbull says the plan to outsource Medicare never went to cabinet


Behind the wire in Australia's 'Pacific Gulag'


Mark Dreyfus asks Malcolm Turnbull about the leaked cabinet papers on visa changes

The Cabinet of Nauru is the executive branch of the government of the Republic of Nauru, a small island nation in the Pacific Ocean. Article 17 (1.) of the Constitution of Nauru provides for the "executive authority of Nauru" to be vested in "a Cabinet constituted as provided by this Part" with the "general direction and control of the government of Nauru", specified in Article 17 (2.) as being "collectively responsible" to the Parliament of Nauru. The Cabinet is directly appointed by the President of Nauru, and comprises the president, who presides over meetings over the Cabinet, and either four or five members of the parliament. The president is also responsible for assigning Members of the Cabinet, including himself, "responsibility for any business of the government of Nauru", as ministers. Members of the Cabinet are required to swear or affirm an oath of office prior to being appointed.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Current cabinet