Video encyclopedia

Confederate States of America


John C Fremont goes from famous to infamous in St Louis


History of the Florida flag

The Confederate States of America, commonly referred to as the Confederacy and the South, was an unrecognized country in North America that existed from 1861 to 1865. The Confederacy was originally formed by seven secessionist slave-holding states—South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas—in the Lower South region of the United States, whose economy was heavily dependent upon agriculture, particularly cotton, and a plantation system that relied upon the labor of African-American slaves.
  • Country facts 

  • Span of control 

  • History 

  • Government and politics 

  • Economy 

  • National flags 

  • Geography 

  • Demographics 

  • Military leaders