Video encyclopedia

Congress of Berlin


The Scramble for Africa and the Berlin Conference


"Berlin 1885: The Division of Africa"


ABB Robotics' European Value Provider Conference 2019 - Berlin


UK - Comments On The United Nations Climate Conference In Berlin


No One Applauded For Trump At The Munich Security Conference | NowThis

The Congress of Berlin was a meeting of the representatives of six great powers of the time, the Ottoman Empire and four Balkan states. It aimed at determining the territories of the states in the Balkan peninsula following the Russo-Turkish War of 1877–78 and came to an end with the signing of the Treaty of Berlin, which replaced the preliminary Treaty of San Stefano, signed three months earlier between Russia and the Ottoman Empire.
  • Background 

  • Great powers in the Balkans 

  • Treaty of San Stefano 

  • Other powers' fear of Russian influence 

  • Bismarck as host 

  • Legacy 

  • Internal opposition to Andrássy's objectives 

  • Delegates