Video encyclopedia

Crown dependency


Crown Dependencies ?


British Crown dependency Meaning


what is the meaning of British Crown dependency.


British Crown Dependencies


The Curious History of the Channel Islands!

Crown dependencies are three island territories off the coast of Britain that are self-governing possessions of the Crown. These are the Bailiwick of Guernsey, the Bailiwick of Jersey and the Isle of Man. They do not form part of either the United Kingdom or the British Overseas Territories. Internationally, the dependencies are considered "territories for which the United Kingdom is responsible", rather than sovereign states. As a result, they are not member states of the Commonwealth of Nations. However, they do have relationships with the Commonwealth, the European Union, and other international organisations, and are members of the British–Irish Council. They have their own teams in the Commonwealth Games. They are not part of the European Union (EU), although they are within the EU's customs area and the Isle of Man alongside the United Kingdom is within the EU's VAT area.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Definition 

  • Channel Islands: Bailiwicks of Jersey and Guernsey 

  • Isle of Man 

  • Relationship with the British Crown 

  • Relationship with the UK 

  • Relationship with the Commonwealth of Nations 

  • Relationship with the Common Travel Area 

  • Relationship with the EU