Video encyclopedia

Cy Young Award


MLB announces the 2018 Cy Young Award finalists


Jacob deGrom Presented With NL Cy Young Award


deGrom Reacts To Winning Cy Young Award


Jacob deGrom and Blake Snell win 2018 Cy Young Awards


Who Will Win National League Cy Young Award?

The Cy Young Award is given annually to the best pitchers in Major League Baseball (MLB), one each for the American League (AL) and National League (NL). The award was first introduced in 1956 by Baseball Commissioner Ford Frick in honor of Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young, who died in 1955. The award was originally given to the single best pitcher in the major leagues, but in 1967, after the retirement of Frick, the award was given to one pitcher in each league.