Video encyclopedia

Basketball leagues

Popular in this category (57)

Sports, Business and economy


The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a men's professional basketball league in North America; composed of 30 teams. It is one of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada, and is widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world.


Women's National Basketball Association

The Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) is a women's professional basketball league in the United States. It is currently composed of twelve teams. The league was founded on April 24, 1996, as the women's counterpart to the National Basketball Association (NBA), and league play started in 1997. The regular season is played from May to September with the All Star game being played midway through the season in July and the WNBA Finals at the end of September until the beginning of October.


NBA 2K League

The NBA 2K League is an eSports league joint venture between the National Basketball Association and Take-Two Interactive. The league was announced on February 9, 2017. On May 4, 2017 it was revealed that 17 of the 30 NBA teams would have their own NBA 2K League team during the inaugural season in 2018. On April 18, 2018, the NBA 2K League and Twitch announced a multiyear partnership to live stream all games. The inaugural season began on May 1, 2018 and on August 25, 2018, Knicks Gaming won the inaugural 2K League championship.


Basketball League of Serbia

The Basketball League of Serbia, is the highest tier level men's professional club basketball competition in Serbia. Founded in 2006, it is run by the Basketball Federation of Serbia.


North American Premier Basketball

The Basketball League (TBL) is a minor professional basketball league operating in North America that began play in 2018 as the North American Premier Basketball League (NAPB).



The National Basketball League (NBL) Finals is a tournament held at the end of each NBL season to determine the league champions. The top four teams qualify for the finals based on the regular season results. The current finals format consists of two rounds: the best-of-three Semi Finals and best-of-five Grand Final series.



NBL1 is a semi-professional basketball league in Australia, comprising both a men's and women's competition, scheduled to commence its inaugural season in March 2019. The league is run by Basketball Victoria and will include teams from Victoria, New South Wales, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. The league replaced the South East Australian Basketball League (SEABL), Australia's pre-eminent semi-professional basketball league from its inception in 1981 until it was disbanded in 2018.


Bikini Basketball Association

The Bikini Basketball Association (BBA) was an American women's basketball league, created by Cedric Mitchell and A. J. McArthur in 2012. The announcement received wide press coverage with pundits finding it variously funny, offensive, and smart business. Contrary to the name, the players wear sports bras and boy shorts, not bikinis, during games.


Vietnam Basketball Association

The Vietnam Basketball Association, often abbreviated as VBA, is a Vietnamese national professional basketball league founded in 2016.



Basketligaen Norge, better known as BLNO is Norway's premier professional men's basketball league. It was established in 2000. The competition is organised by the Norwegian Basketball Federation (NBBF).


ABA League Supercup

The ABA League Supercup, also credited as ABA Super Cup, is an annual men's professional basketball supercup competition between teams from the ABA League. It is run by the ABA League JTD. It is a regional competition, that is contested between teams from six countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.


Circuito de Baloncesto de la Costa del Pacífico

The Circuito de Baloncesto de la Costa del Pacífico (CIBACOPA) is a basketball league based in Northwestern Mexico. As of 2018, it involves 10 clubs, primarily from northwest Mexico. The matches take place from March to June.


Women's Chinese Basketball Association

The Women's Chinese Basketball Association (WCBA) is the first-tier professional women's basketball league in China. It was established in 2002 as the women's counterpart to the Chinese Basketball Association (CBA).


YUBA League

The YUBA League was the highest tier level men's professional club basketball competition in FR Yugoslavia, later Serbia and Montenegro. Founded in 1992 and folded in 2006, it was run by the Basketball Federation of Serbia and Montenegro.


Österreichische Basketball Bundesliga

The Austrian Basketball Bundesliga was the top men's professional basketball league in Austria. Until the 2004–05 season, the league was known as the A-Liga (A-League) and then until the 2008–09 season it was called the Österreichische Basketball Bundesliga (ÖBL). From 2008 to 2019, it has been named the Admiral Basketball League, after the league's main sponsor, Admiral Sportwetten.