Video encyclopedia

Rugby teams

Popular in this category (1,472)


Catalans Dragons

The Catalans Dragons are a professional rugby league club in Perpignan, Pyrénées-Orientales, France. They play in the Super League, and are the only team in the competition from outside Northern England. The Dragons play home games at Stade Gilbert Brutus. They are the current Challenge Cup holders, and the first non British team to win it, since the competition started in 1901, after beating Warrington Wolves 20–14 at Wembley Stadium on 25 August 2018.


Toronto Wolfpack

The Toronto Wolfpack are a Canadian professional rugby league club, based in Toronto, which competes in the British Rugby Football League system. In 2018 the club is competing in the Championship, having begun to play in 2017 in League 1 and won a promotion in its inaugural season. The club is noted as being the first North American team to play in the Rugby Football League system, the first fully professional rugby league team in Canada and the world's first transatlantic rugby league team.


Saracens F.C.

Saracens Football Club are an English professional rugby union team based in London, England. Established in 1876, they currently play in Premiership Rugby, the top level of domestic rugby union in England, where they are the reigning champions. They are also the current title holders of the European Rugby Champions Cup, a tournament which they have now won on three occasions – in 2016, 2017 and 2019. Since 2012, Saracens have played their home games at Allianz Park in Hendon, in the London Borough of Barnet; previous grounds have included Vicarage Road in Watford, and Bramley Road. The club's home playing colours are black and red.


Wasps RFC

Wasps Rugby Football Club is an English professional rugby union team based in Coventry, England. They play in Premiership Rugby, England's top division of rugby.


London Irish RFC

London Irish RFC is an English rugby union club, with an Irish Identity. It was originally based in Sunbury, Surrey, where the senior squad train, youth teams and senior academy play home games, and the club maintain their administrative offices. It has competed in the Premiership, the top division of English rugby union, every season since its inception in 1996-97, apart from the 2016-17 and 2018-19 seasons, in which they competed in the Greene King IPA Championship, winning the league in 2017. The club has also competed in the Anglo-Welsh Cup and has participated in both the European Champions Cup or European Challenge Cup. In 2016 it played in the British and Irish Cup in addition to the Championship. The club will play its home games at the Madejski Stadium in Reading, Berkshire until at least 2019.



The Sunwolves – currently known as the HITO-Communications Sunwolves for sponsorship reasons – are a professional rugby union team and is Japan's representative team in SANZAAR's international Super Rugby competition. The team is based in Tokyo, Japan, but also plays some home matches in Singapore. They made their debut in Super Rugby in 2016.


Harlequin F.C.

The Harlequin Football Club is an English rugby union team that plays in the top level of English rugby, the English Premiership. Their ground in London is the Twickenham Stoop. They were one of the founding members of the RFU.



The Stormers are a South African professional rugby union team based in Cape Town competing in the Super Rugby competition. They have never won a tournament, but their home stadium, Newlands, typically draws the highest average attendance figures of any ground in Super Rugby..


Leicester Tigers

Leicester Tigers is an English professional rugby union club based in Leicester, England. They play in Premiership Rugby, England's top division of rugby.



The Chiefs are a professional rugby union team based in Hamilton, New Zealand. The team competes in the Super Rugby competition, previously known as the Super 12 and Super 14, and are one of the competition's five New Zealand teams. Playing in black, red and yellow coloured jerseys, their primary home ground is Waikato Stadium.

Sports, Society

British & Irish Lions

The British & Irish Lions is a rugby union team selected from players eligible for the national teams of England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. The Lions are a test side and most often select players who have already played for their national team, although they can pick uncapped players who are eligible for any of the four unions. The team currently tours every four years, with these rotating between Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in order. The most recent test series, the 2021 series against South Africa, was won 2–1 by South Africa.


Exeter Chiefs

Exeter Chiefs are an English professional rugby union club based in Exeter, Devon. They play in Premiership Rugby, England's top division of rugby.


Sale Sharks

Sale Sharks is an English professional rugby union club from the Greater Manchester that plays in the English Premiership. Their northern rivals are the Newcastle Falcons.


Sydney Roosters

The Sydney Roosters is an Australian professional rugby league football club based in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney. The club competes in the National Rugby League (NRL) competition and is one of the oldest clubs in Australian rugby league history, having won thirteen New South Wales Rugby League (NSWRL) and National Rugby League titles, and several other competitions. Only the South Sydney Rabbitohs and the St. George Dragons have won more premierships. The club holds the record for having the most wins and the second greatest margin of victory in a match in Australian rugby league history. The Roosters are one of only two clubs to finish runners-up in their inaugural season. The Eastern Suburbs DRLFC is the only club to have played in each and every season at the elite level, and since the 1970s has often been dubbed the "glamour club" of the league. Coached by Trent Robinson along with captains Boyd Cordner and Jake Friend, the Roosters play their home games at the Sydney Football Stadium.


South Sydney Rabbitohs

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are a professional Australian rugby league team based in Redfern, a suburb of Inner-Southern Sydney, New South Wales. They participate in the National Rugby League (NRL) premiership and are one of nine existing teams from the state capital. They are often called Souths and The Bunnies.